The Rumour

Purity of Essence

(Gadfly 227)

With a reputation that has only grown over the years, The Rumour has a rich history, not only from its own releases, but also as a backing band for Graham Parker, Elvis Costello, Carlene Carter, Desmond Dekker, Rachel Sweet, and others. Formed in 1975, primarily as a backing band for Graham Parker, The Rumour recorded three albums of their own: "Max"(Phonogram), "Frogs, Sprouts, Clogs and Krauts"(Stiff), and "Purity of Essence"(Stiff). Despite critical acclaim, the group never achieved much commercial success, and broke up toward the end of 1980.

In addition to being a pop classic, "Purity of Essence" includes otherwise-unreleased songs written by Graham Parker, Nick Lowe and Randy Newman. Also included in the CD booklet is a history of the legendary Stiff label.

Ordering Information
Return to the main page