Black 47

Black 47

(Gadfly 272)

Free Joe Now
mp3 sound clip here:

Home of the Brave
mp3 sound clip here:

Patriot Game
mp3 sound clip here:

Gadfly Records is proud to announce the re-release of “Black 47,” the debut indie release that started it all for the popular Irish-American rock group Black 47.

Self-produced and released in 1991, Black 47 was the album that garnered the group their major label deal. After signing their deal, much of the album was re-recorded with the Cars' Ric Ocasek producing, giving the reworked tracks a much more polished treatment.

But Black 47 contains the original versions of some of their best-known songs, including "Funky Ceili (Bridie's Song)," "Rockin' the Bronx," and "Desperate" complete with a rawness and charm that says volumes about the spirit and heart of this openly-political band that has endured so long.

In addition, Black 47 features three original tracks that were not re-recorded ("Free Joe Now," "Land of DeValera," and "Paddy's Got A Brand New Reel") as well as two bonus tracks ("Home of the Brave" and "Patriot Game").

Black 47 was formed in 1989 and has recorded six CDs for EMI, Mercury, Gadfly and Shanachie Records. They have performed almost 2000 shows internationally, appeared on all the major TV shows, shut down the town of Hoboken, played Shea Stadium three times and have been in the forefront of opening the eyes of a generation of young Americans to oppression in the North of Ireland and elsewhere. Kirwan’s cinematic songs of New York street life and political upheaval have been used in movies such as Into The West, The Break, The Saint of Fort Washington, Looking For an Echo, etc. and are staples in political and social TV documentaries.


1. Banks Of The Hudson

2. Rockin' The Bronx

3. Desperate

4. Funky Ceili (Bridie's Song)

5. Fanatic Heart

6. Free Joe Now

7. 40 Shades Of Blue

8. James Connolly

9. Blind Mary/Her Dear Old Donegal (Sleep tight in New York City)

10. Livin' In America

11. Land Of DeValera

12. Paddy's Got A Brand New Reel

13. Home Of The Brave

14. Patriot Game

Also available from Gadfly Records:

Black 47, "Live in New York City," Gadfly 248

Larry Kirwan, "Kilroy Was Here," Gadfly 273

Ordering Information
Return to the main page